Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA)

PISA focuses on the assessment of student performance in reading, mathematics and science because they are foundational to a student's ongoing education. PISA also collects valuable information on student attitudes and motivations, and formally assesses skills such as collaborative problem solving and is investigating opportunities to assess other important competencies related, for example, to global competence.

Data creator

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

Geographic coverage

International: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong-China, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Korea, Kyrgyz Republic, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao-China, Mexico, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Montenegro, Republic of Serbia, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay


Schools in each country are randomly selected by the international contractor for participation in PISA. At these schools, the test is given to students who are between age 15 years 3 months and age 16 years 2 months at the time of the test, rather than to students in a specific year of school. This average age of 15 was chosen because at this age young people in most OECD countries are nearing the end of compulsory education. The selection of schools and students is kept as inclusive as possible, so that the sample of students comes from a broad range of backgrounds and abilities.

Date of collection
2010, 2015
Unit of observation
Extent of file

5 data files (number of logical records varies) & accompanying documentation (27 files)

Funding agency

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) PISA is financed exclusively through direct contributions from participating countries, made through each country's education ministry




Access conditions and restrictions